

Contact: Alison Miller Phone: 859-402-9817 Email: amiller@soap.org FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology Announces New Board of Directors

July 1, 2022 | Lexington, KY – The Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology (SOAP), a global professional society dedicated to advancing and advocating for the health of pregnant women and their babies, has announced the 2022-2023 Board of Directors.

As the governing body of SOAP, the Board of Directors is responsible for guiding the strategic direction of the organization, with a vision of safe and equitable care for women and newborns everywhere.

The Board of Directors will be led by **Klaus Kjaer**, M.D., M.B.A., of New York Presbyterian Hospital – Weill Cornell Medical College, whose term as SOAP President began July 1, 2022. Dr. Kjaer is a long-time SOAP leader who has served on the Board of Directors since 2017. After attending Stanford University for his undergraduate studies, Dr. Kjaer obtained his M.D. from the University of California, San Francisco. He completed his anesthesia residency and obstetric anesthesia fellowship at Brigham and Women's Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School. He has held several positions as Weill Cornell Medical College since 2000, where he is a Professor of Clinical Anesthesiology, Healthcare Policy and Research and currently serves as Chief Quality and Patient Safety Officer for Weill Cornell Medicine. Additionally, Dr. Kjaer has held a number of administrative positions at New York Presbyterian Hospital and now serves as the Program Director of Obstetric Anesthesiology Fellowship. He obtained his MBA from Columbia Business School in 2010. He also serves as an examiner for the American Board of Anesthesiology.

Other officers are Vice President **May Pian-Smith**, M.D., of Harvard Medical School/Massachusetts General Hospital; Secretary **Ronald George**, M.D., FRCPC, of the University of California San Francisco; and Treasurer

Mahesh Vaidyanathan, M.D., M.B.A., of Northwestern University. Edward (Ted) Yaghmour, M.D., FASA, of Vanderbilt University is the Immediate Past President. Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology Announces New Board of Directors Page 2 of 2

The remaining members of the SOAP Board of Directors include:

- Grace Lim, M.D. M.S., Magee-Women's Hospital of UPMC
- David Gambling, M.B., B.S., FRCPC, Sharp Mary Birch Hospital for Women and Newborns
- Rayna Clay, M.D., Greater Florida Anesthesiologists Unicom Division
- Michaela Farber, M.D., M.S., Brigham & Women's Hospital
- Vibha Mahendra, M.D., University of Southern California
- Jamie Murphy, M.D., The Johns Hopkins University
- Heather C. Nixon, M.D., University of Illinois Hospital and Health Sciences System
- Dan Katz, M.D., Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
- Ashraf Habib, MBBCh, MHSc, FRCA, Duke University Medical Center

About SOAP

The Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology was founded in 1968 to provide a forum for discussion of problems unique to the peripartum period. SOAP is comprised of more than 1,600 anesthesiologists, obstetricians, pediatricians, and basic scientists from around the world who share an interest in the care of the pregnant patient and the newborn. SOAP's mission is to advance and advocate for the health of pregnant women and their babies through research, education, and best practices in obstetric anesthesia care. To learn more, visit soap.org or contact SOAP headquarters via email at info@soap.org.
