SOAP Center of Excellence Designees


The SOAP Center of Excellence (COE) designation recognizes demonstrated excellence in obstetric anesthesia care. Congratulations to the following institutions and obstetric anesthesia programs that have attained this prestigious designation.

2021 Designees

  • Al Wakra Hospital, Hamad Medical Corporation, Doha, Qatar
  • Baptist Medical Center Jacksonville, Jacksonville, Florida
  • Baptist Medical Center South, Jacksonville, Florida
  • Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas
  • Clements University Hospital at UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, Texas
  • NYC Health and Hospitals/Elmhurst, Elmhurst, New York
  • Kitasato University Hospital, Sagamihara City, Japan
  • Memorial Hermann Hospital – Texas Medical Center, Houston, Texas
  • Parkland Health, Dallas, Texas
  • Pro Matre Paulista-Grupo, Santa Joana, Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • The University of Texas Medical Branch – Galveston, Galveston, Texas
  • Westchester Medical Center, Valhalla, New York
  • University of Colorado Hospital, Aurora, Colorado

The COE designation was awarded March 31, 2022, to the institutions and obstetric anesthesia programs listed above and will remain valid for four years. Designees will reapply during the 2025 cycle for renewal in 2026.

2020 Designees

  • Clinica Universitaria Bolivariana – Medellin, Columbia
  • George Washington School of Medicine – Washington DC
  • Hamad Medical Corporation, Women’s Wellness & Research Centre  Doha, Qatar
  • Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian – Newport Beach, CA
  • Loma Linda University – Loma Linda, CA
  • Long Island Jewish Medical Center – Hyde Park, NY
  • Minneapolis Anesthesia Partners – Plymouth, MN
  • National Center for Child Health and Development – Tokyo, Japan
  • Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center – Columbus, OH
  • Sidra Medicine – Doha, Qatar
  • Stony Brook Medicine – Stony Brook, NY
  • Sutter Medical Center, Sacramento – Sacramento, CA
  • UC Davis Medical Center  Sacramento, CA
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham – Birmingham, AL
  • University of Chicago – Chicago, IL
  • Virginia Commonwealth University Health System – Richmond, VA
  • Yale New Haven Hospital, York Street Campus – New Haven, CT

The COE designation was awarded March 12, 2021, to the institutions and obstetric anesthesia programs listed above and will remain valid for four years. Designees will reapply during the 2024 cycle for renewal in 2025.

2019 Designees 

  • University of Michigan, Michigan Medicine – Ann Arbor, MI
  • Kaiser Permanente, Roseville Women & Children’s Hospital – Roseville, CA
  • University of Maryland Medical Center – Baltimore, MD
  • Virtua Voorhees Hospital, West Jersey Anesthesia Associates – Voorhees, NJ
  • UAMS College of Medicine – Little Rock, AR
  • Vanderbilt University – Nashville, TN
  • Missouri Baptist Medical Center – St. Louis, MO
  • BC Women's Hospital – Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania – Philadelphia, PA
  • Hackensack University Medical Center – Hackensack, NJ
  • The Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin Froedtert Hospital Birth Center – Milwaukee, WI
  • Mayo Clinic – Rochester, MN
  • Miller Women's and Children's Hospital – Long Beach, CA
  • University of Utah – Salt Lake City, UT

The COE designation was awarded March 25, 2020, to the institutions and obstetric anesthesia programs listed above and will remain valid for four years.  Designees will reapply during the 2023 cycle for renewal in 2024.

 2018 Designees 

  • Stanford University  Stanford, CA
  • Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine – Chicago, IL
  • Columbia University – New York, NY
  • University of New Mexico – Albuquerque, NM
  • Colorado Fetal Care Center, Children's Hospital Colorado – Aurora, CO
  • North Shore University Hospital – Manhasset, NY
  • Johns Hopkins Hospital – Baltimore, MA
  • Saddleback Memorial Medical Center – Laguna Hills, CA
  • Albany Medical Center – Albany, NY
  • University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill – Chapel Hill, NC
  • New York Presbyterian - Weill Cornell – New York, NY
  • Tufts Medical Center – Boston, MA
  • Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai  New York, NY
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center – Boston, MA
  • Overlook Medical Center – Summit, NJ
  • University of Minnesota – Minneapolis, MN
  • Sparrow Hospital – Lansing, MI
  • Ochsner Hospital – New Orleans, LA
  • NYU Langone, Tisch Hospital – New York, NY
  • University of California San Francisco – San Francisco, CA
  • Wake Forest University Health Sciences – Winston Salem, NC
  • Juntendo University Hospital – Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo, Japan
  • Massachusetts General Hospital – Boston, MA
  • Mount Sinai West – New York, NY
  • Magee-Womens Hospital of UPMC – Pittsburgh, PA
  • University of Washington – Seattle, WA
  • Sharp Mary Birch Hospital for Women and Newborns – San Diego, CA
  • Washington University School of Medicine – Chesterfield, MO
  • Victoria Hospital – London, Ontario
  • Brigham and Women's Hospital – Boston, MA
  • Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital and Trauma Center – San Francisco, CA
  • Texas Children's Hospital, Pavilion for Women – Houston, TX
  • Mercy Hospital St. Louis   St. Louis, MO
  • Hospital e Maternidade Santa Joana – Sao Paulo, Brazil
  • Regional One Health – Memphis, TN
  • Cedars-Sinai Medical Center – Los Angeles, CA
  • MedStar Washington Hospital Center – Washington DC
  • Penn Medicine Princeton Health – Plainsboro, NJ
  • Duke University – Durham, NC

The COE designation was awarded March 25, 2019, to the institutions and obstetric anesthesia programs listed above and will remain valid for four years.  Designees will reapply during the 2022 cycle for renewal in 2023.