Working Groups (Subcommittees and Task Forces)

Much of the work of SOAP is done through working groups (subcommittees and task forces) that align under SOAP committees. These hard-working volunteers create materials for patient and provider use, design events, select award and grant recipients, determine the institutions that meet the standards of Centers of Excellence designation, and more. If you want to get involved, watch for the call for committee interest each spring.

Information for Working Group Members
Governance Committee Working Groups
  • Diversity & Inclusivity Subcommittee (Chair: Allison Lee)
  • Bylaws Subcommittee (Chair: Richard Month)
  • Nominating Subcommittee (Co-chairs: Ron George and May Pian-Smith)
Member Value Committee Working Groups
  • Special Interest Groups Subcommittee (Chair: Emily Sharpe)
  • Newsletter Subcommittee (Chair: Kristen Fardelmann)
  • Digital Media Subcommittee (Chair: Vibha Mahendra)
  • Under-resourced Environments Subcommittee (Chair: Carlos Delgado)
  • Mentoring Academy Subcommittee (Chair: Feyce Peralta)
Intersociety Committee Working Groups
  • Centers of Excellence Subcommittee (Chair: Brendan Carvalho)
  • International Outreach Subcommittee (Chair: Lisa Corbett)
  • Collaborative & Endorsed Statements Subcommittee (Chair: Lisa Leffert)
  • Kybele/SOAP Grant Review Task Force
Annual Meeting and Live Events Committee Working Groups
  • Locations and Logistics Subcommittee (Chair: Amy Lee)
  • Platforms and Technology Subcommittee (Chair: Tom Klumpner)
  • Annual Curricular Planning Subcommittee (Chair: Rebecca Minehart)
  • CME Subcommittee (Chair: Robert Gaiser)
  • Sponsors and Industry Subcommittee (Chair: Brandon Togioka)
  • Inter Society Planning Subcommittee (Chair: Pervez Sultan)
Education Committee Working Groups
  • Clinical Resources Subcommittee (Co-chairs: Barbara Orlando and Holly Ende)
  • Simulation and Technology Subcommittee (Co-chairs: Gillian Abir and Kokila Thenuawara)
  • Patient Safety Subcommittee (Chair: Nicole Higgins)
  • Patient Education Subcommittee (Co-chairs: Bryan Mahoney and Sebastian Seifert)
  • Trainee Curriculum Subcommittee (Chair: Jennifer Dominguez)
  • OB/MFM/Midwife Education Subcommittee (Co-chairs: Helene Finegold and Josh Younger)
  • Material Editing/Media and Publications Response Team (Chair: Regina Fragneto)
  • Awards Task Force (Chair: Joy Schabel)
Research Committee Working Groups
  • Abstract Review Subcommittee (Chair: Ruthi Landau)
  • Grants Subcommittee (Chair: Grace Lim)
  • Research Network Subcommittee (Co-chairs: Cynthia Wong and Ashraf Habib)
  • Research Promotion Subcommittee (Chair: Melissa Bauer)