SOAP committees are small, strategic bodies that serve the critical purpose of guiding and delivering programs, initiatives and work products. With the support of subcommittees and task forces, these committees work in alignment with SOAP’s mission, vision, and core values and in support of our strategic pillars.
 >> View 2022-2023 Committee Charters

Klaus Kjaer, MD, MBA - Chair
May Pian-Smith, MD - Vice Chair
Ronald George, MD, FRCPC
Mahesh Vaidyanathan, MD, MBA
Ted Yaghmour, MD, FASA

The Executive Committee acts with the authority of the Board of Directors for urgent or sensitive matters. Responsibilities include determining the agenda for Board meetings, tracking the progress of committees, and reviewing the annual independent audit.

Mahesh Vaidyanathan, MD, MBA - Chair
Rayna Clay, MD
May Pian-Smith, MD
Emily Stockert, MD, MBA

The Finance Committee determines the return on investment of new projects, clarifies revenue streams, reviews ongoing cash flows, proposes the annual budget, presents the annual financial report, and oversees industry relationships.

Ronald George, MD, FRCPC - Chair
Alex Butwick, MB, BS, FRCA, MS - Vice Chair
Jeanette Bauchat, MD
Jennifer Dominguez, MD
Allison Lee, MD
Richard Month, MD
Ted Yaghmour, MD, FASA (ex officio)

The Governance Committee oversees nomination, election, and orientation processes; coordinates the charters of committees, projects and special interest groups; maintains policies, procedures, and bylaws; interfaces with the management staff; and periodically assesses governance structure.

May Pian-Smith, MD - Chair
Rayna Clay, MD - Vice Chair
Ronald George, MD, FRCPC 
Carlos Delgado, MD
Kristen Fardelmann, MD
Vibha Mahendra, MD
Feyce Peralta, MD
Emily Sharpe, MD

The Member Value Committee defines and works to enhance membership value, promotes membership development, oversees the recruitment of new members, reports on membership feedback and trends, and recommends strategies for SOAP’s online presence.

Jamie Murphy, MD - Chair
Brendan Carvalho, MB, BCh, FRCA
Lisa Corbett, MD
Nicole Durko, MD
Rachel M. Kacmar, MD
Grace Lim, MD, MS
Caitlin Sutton, MD

The Intersociety Committee defines best practices in collaboration with other professional societies and initiatives related to optimizing maternal and fetal safety. The committee oversees the Centers of Excellence program; consensus statements, practice advisories, and interim recommendations; and intersociety councils.

Heather Nixon, MD - Chair
Rebecca Minehart, MD, MEd - Vice Chair
David Gambling, MB, BS, FRCPC
Tom Klumpner, MD
Amy Lee, MD
Pervez Sultan, MD
Brandon Togioka, MD

The Annual Meeting & Live Events Committee oversees live in-person events and virtual programming. The committee evaluates and recommends virtual platforms, proposes scientific and social programs, evaluates in-person meeting venues, and defines opportunities for exhibitors and sponsors.

Dan Katz, MD - Chair
Allison Lee, MD, MS, MBBS - Vice Chair
Jennifer Banayan, MD
Michaela Farber, MD, MS
Clemens Ortner, MD
Grace Shih, MD
David Stahl, MD

The Education Committee manages asynchronous online educational content, CME offerings, program innovation (e.g., simulation, professional development), fellowship curriculum updates, resident recruitment, and patient educational materials.

Ashraf Habib, MD - Chair
Cynthia Wong, MD - Vice Chair
David Arnolds, MD
Jake Beilin, MD
Anthony Chau, MD
Grace Lim, MD, MS
Carolyn Weiniger, MD

The Research Committee directs research related to the optimization of maternal and fetal health. Oversight includes output of the research network, grants, mentoring and review of research abstracts and case studies for the Annual Meeting.