About the Fred Hehre Lecturer


Frederick W. Hehre, M.D., was one of the earliest obstetric anesthesiologists and was a charter member of SOAP. In 1981, the Board established the tradition that a keynote presentation at each Annual Meeting would be named in his honor.

The honor of presenting the Fred Hehre Lecture is given to a SOAP member who is a widely acclaimed and senior contributor from a field pertinent to obstetric anesthesia. The ideal candidate is described as an exemplary human being who has made significant contributions to obstetric anesthesiology. The lecture topic itself remains determined by the honoree.

Selection Process

Members may nominate other SOAP members for consideration of the Nominating Subcommittee, which will ensure nominated individuals meet the necessary criteria and are willing to accept the nomination. Self-nominations are not allowed. Nominees will be contacted by SOAP HQ to accept the nomination and submit required documents.  The Nominating Subcommittee will then review nominees to make sure they meet the criteria.  Eligible nominees will be submitted for a vote of the SOAP Board of Directors.  


The ideal candidate is described as follows:

  • Individual with significant contributions to the subspecialty of obstetric anesthesiology and perinatal medicine
  • Personal qualities of kindness, understanding, and compassion, which Fred Hehre consistently demonstrated
  • 25 or more years since finishing residency
  • SOAP member, with a commitment to our core values
  • Preference given to
    • U.S.-based nominees
    • Prior attendance at SOAP meetings
    • Academic/scholarly contributions to the field
    • Not previously given the Fred Hehre Lecture

Fred Hehre Lecturers

2024 - Barbara Scavone, MD
2023 – Vernon H. Ross, M.D.
2022 – Robert Gaiser, M.D., FASA
2021 – May C. Pian-Smith, M.D., M.S.
2019 – Jose C.A. Carvalho, M.D., Ph.D., FANZCA, FRCPC
2018 – Robert A. Dyer, FCA (SA), Ph.D.
2017 – Cynthia A. Wong, M.D.
2016 – Lawrence C. Tsen, M.D.
2015 – Warwick Ngan Kee, B.H.B, M.B., Ch.B., M.D., FANZCA, FHKCA, FHKAM
2014 – David J. Wlody, M.D.
2013 – Richard Smiley, M.D. Ph.D.
2012 – Gordon Lyons, M.D.
2011 – William Camann, M.D.
2010 – Susan K. Palmer, M.D.
2009  Joy Hawkins, M.D.
2008 – Alan C. Santos, M.D.
2007  David J. Birnbach, MD, MPH
2006 – David Chestnut, M.D.
2005 – James C. Eisenach, M.D.
2004 – Samuel C. Hughes, M.D.
2003 – Donald Caton, M.D.
2002 – David M. Dewan, M.D.
2001  M. Joanne Douglas, M.D.
2000 – Michael J. Cousins, M.D.
1999 – Sheila E. Cohen, MB, ChB
1998 – Gershon Levinson, M.D.
1997 – M. Finster, M.D.
1996 – Charles P. Gibbs, M.D.
1995 – Ronald Melzack, Ph.D.
1994 – Felicity Reynolds, MBBS, M.D.
1993 – Frederick P. Zuspan, M.D.
1992 – Bradley Smith, M.D.
1989 – Francis M. James, M.D.
1988 – Tony Yaksh, Ph.D.
1987 – John J. Bonica, M.D.
1986 – Frank C. Greiss, Jr., M.D.
1985 – Sol M. Shnider, M.D.
1984 – Phillip R. Bromage, M.D.
1983 – Edward Hon, M.D.
1982 – L. Stanley James, M.D.
1981 – Gertie F. Marx, M.D.